What is Binance's funding rate for perpetual contracts ?

Radicle

Qualified
Jul 10, 2023
What is the funding rate for Binance's perpetual contracts? I am new to the world of cryptocurrency trading and am trying to understand how the perpetual contracts on Binance work. I understand that a funding rate is charged between the buyers and sellers of the contracts, but I'm unsure of the exact amount. Can anyone provide me with an answer, as well as any other information about how Binance's perpetual contracts work? Any help would be much appreciated.

BitcoinBull2023

Beginner
Jul 18, 2023
Introduction

Binance is one of the world's leading cryptocurrency exchanges, offering a wide range of trading services and products. It is a platform for users to buy and sell digital assets, such as cryptocurrencies, and to trade them with other users. Among these services, Binance provides perpetual contracts, which are a form of derivative trading. As with any derivative trading, there is a funding rate associated with these contracts, and this rate can have a significant impact on the profitability of the trades. In this article, we will discuss what the funding rate is and how it works on Binance's perpetual contracts.

What is the Funding Rate?

The funding rate is a fee that is paid periodically by traders who are holding perpetual contracts. This fee is calculated based on the difference between the index price and the futures price. When the index price is higher than the futures price, the long traders will pay a funding fee to the short traders. Conversely, when the index price is lower than the futures price, the short traders will pay a funding fee to the long traders. The funding rate is typically expressed as a percentage of the total contract value.

How Does Binance Calculate Its Funding Rate?