How do I handle slippage while placing orders on Bitfinex ?

Carol

Rookie
Jul 17, 2023
I'm new to cryptocurrency trading and I'm having difficulty understanding how to handle slippage when placing orders on Bitfinex. Can someone please explain to me what slippage is and how to prevent it when trading on Bitfinex?

Slippage is the difference between the expected price of a trade and the price at which the trade is actually executed. It can be caused by a number of factors, including market volatility, inadequate liquidity, and order size.

To avoid slippage while trading on Bitfinex, you should make sure to place your order at the best available price, use limit orders instead of market orders, and ensure that your order size is appropriate for the current market conditions. Additionally, you should always use stop-loss orders to protect yourself from excessive slippage.

Can anyone provide me with any other tips or strategies for preventing slippage while trading on Bitfinex? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Holo

Qualified
Jul 9, 2023
Slippage is the difference between the expected price of a trade and the price at which the trade is actually executed. On Bitfinex, slippage can be minimized by setting a limit order, rather than a market order, and by setting the limit price to a level that is slightly higher than the current market price. Additionally, traders should be aware of the liquidity of the market they are trading in, as this will affect the amount of slippage that occurs.

Huobi-Token

Qualified
Jul 9, 2023
What is Slippage?

Slippage is the difference between the expected price of a trade and the price at which the trade is actually executed. It occurs when there is a large difference between the bid and ask prices, or when the market moves suddenly and unexpectedly. Slippage, Bid-Ask Spread, Market Movement, Trade Execution

How Does Slippage Affect Trading on Bitfinex?