How can I use Coincheck's KYC verification for secure account access ?

Daphne

Rookie
Jul 17, 2023
I am new to cryptocurrency and recently created an account on Coincheck. I was told that I need to do KYC verification for secure access to my account. I know that KYC stands for Know Your Customer but I'm not sure what is required to do it, and how it works.

Can someone please explain to me what KYC is, how to do it, and how it can help me secure my account? Is it necessary to do KYC in order to use Coincheck? What other security measures should I take to protect my account? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Zilliqa

Super Mod
Super Mod
Jul 10, 2023
Know Your Customer (KYC) verification is a process used by businesses to verify the identity of their customers. The purpose of KYC verification is to help ensure that customers are who they say they are, and that they are not using the business's services for illegal activities.

Coincheck requires users to upload a valid form of government-issued ID, such as a passport or driver's license. After the ID is verified, users will then be asked to answer a few questions about themselves, such as their date of birth, address, and occupation. This information is used to verify the user's identity, and to help protect the user's account from unauthorized access.

By completing KYC verification, users can ensure that their account is secure and they can access their funds without any risk. KYC verification also helps protect the user from fraud and other malicious activities. Additionally, users who complete KYC verification are eligible for certain features and services, such as the ability to purchase digital currency using a debit or credit card.