How can I enable two-factor authentication on my Coinbase account ?

Danielle

Rookie
Jul 17, 2023
Recently I have been looking to ensure the highest level of security on my Bitcoin account. To do this, I want to enable two-factor authentication on my Coinbase account. I have heard about this extra layer of security, but I am not sure how to actually enable it. Can anyone knowledgeable in this field provide me with instructions on how to do this?

Additionally, what other measures could I take to increase security on my Coinbase account beyond two-factor authentication? Is there anything else I should be aware of? I am relatively new to cryptocurrency and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

KusamaKollector

Beginner
Jul 18, 2023
Two-factor authentication (2FA) is an additional layer of security that requires a user to provide two different forms of authentication in order to access an account or service. This is typically done by entering a username and password, followed by a unique code sent to a registered device or email address. This ensures that only the user who has access to both the username and password, as well as the device or email address, can access the account.

Two-factor authentication is important because it adds an extra layer of security to your account. Without it, anyone who obtains your username and password can gain access to your account. With two-factor authentication, even if someone has your username and password, they will not be able to access your account unless they also have access to the device or email address associated with your account.

Enabling two-factor authentication on Coinbase is a simple process. First, log in to your Coinbase account and click on the “Security” tab. Next, click on “Two-Factor Authentication” and select the type of authentication you would like to use. Coinbase offers three types of two-factor authentication: SMS, Google Authenticator, and Authy.