cryptocurrency futures ?

Clark

Qualified
Jul 17, 2023
Hello,

I'm new to cryptocurrency and recently heard about something called "cryptocurrency futures". I'm interested in learning more about it, but I don't know much about the concept. Can somebody please explain what cryptocurrency futures are and how they work? Are there any risks or potential rewards from investing in cryptocurrency futures?

I would greatly appreciate any advice or insights from experienced people into this topic.

StellarXLMXLMXLM

Beginner
Jul 18, 2023
What is a Cryptocurrency Futures Contract?

A cryptocurrency futures contract is a financial derivative instrument that allows traders to speculate on the future price of a particular cryptocurrency, such as Bitcoin or Ethereum. Futures contracts are agreements between two parties to buy or sell an asset at a predetermined price at a specified time in the future. The two parties involved in a futures contract are referred to as “long” and “short”. The “long” is the party that agrees to buy the asset at the predetermined price, while the “short” is the party that agrees to sell the asset at the predetermined price.

How Do Cryptocurrency Futures Work?

Cryptocurrency futures contracts are similar to other types of futures contracts, such as those traded on commodities exchanges. In a cryptocurrency futures contract, the two parties involved agree to buy or sell a particular cryptocurrency at a predetermined price at a specified time in the future. The price of the cryptocurrency is determined by the market, and the two parties involved in the contract are required to fulfill their obligations regardless of the market price at the time the contract expires.

What Are the Benefits of Trading Cryptocurrency Futures?